Tiny important info

Can you read the “Warning!” on the Kidde smoke detector or the footnote associated with “free*”?

This looks like important information, but it’s presented in a way that makes it hard to read. I could barely read the Giant footnote with a magnifying glass. I couldn’t read the smoke detector warning. Maybe it said, “Do not place dimes next to the lid!” Actually, the same warning (I think) was on a piece of paper attached to the smoke detector (in tiny type, like the Giant footnote).

Was this important information proofread? How?

An editor who gets to check important information should also check its presentation. Will it be legible to the people who receive it? When people give me exclusive offers, I wonder who is excluded. Maybe anyone who can’t read the footnote is excluded.

1 thought on “Tiny important info

  1. Pingback: More tiny important info | Editor's Companion

Leave a comment